The Buanderie, built in 1893 was a service building belonging to the Ferrari Foundation. Acquired by the local authorities in 2002 to provide the setting for a multimedia library, it was placed on the French supplementary historic monuments list in 2003.
Comprising a main block rising up over four floor levels and a ground floor annexe, this public amenity now gives onto the town thanks to the creation of large windows overlooking the street.
To assert its history, the agency chose, as far as possible, to retain the rational spirit so specific to late 19th century architecture. Its identity is emphasized by adapting the use of louvers that in the past controlled the circulation of the air used to dry clothes. This system allows the multimedia library to be able to proudly boast that it is the first in the Ile-de-France region not to use air conditioning.
To the north, large openings have been created to give those inside a view over the town beyond and, from the outside, an appreciation of what is taking place within the library. The building provides for different types of reading practices such as “story times”, it also allows people to read in a landscaped greenhouse that opens onto the outside during the summer and gives onto the Ferrari Foundation park to the west and east.